Childhood Candy “White Rabbit” Might Not Be Halal
Fans of the popular White Rabbit candy may be in shock as authorities from Ministry of Religious Affairs of Brunei (MoRA) declared that this candy contains pig proteins and thus, it is not halal in Brunei.
Due to the discovery made by MoRA, the Sarawak Islamic Religious Department (JAIS) in Malaysia announced that they will be conducting tests on the White Rabbit candy. Not only is this action due to MoRA’s discovery, but the Ministry in charge of Islamic Affairs also noted the absence of the halal logo on the candy.
Halal, which means permissible, is the dietary standard for Muslims. It is commonly used for food products, meat products, cosmetics, and food ingredients. Halal foods are those that do not contain components that Muslims are prohibited from consuming and is processed according to Islamic law.
However, to ensure that the food is free from non- halal components, we at 7FoodPillars can lend a helping hand through our PorcineTrace Detection kits. Our PorcineTrace Detection kits are available as PCR and Real-time PCR. Both the PorcineTrace PCR and Real-Time PCR kits have 100% specificity and sensitivity, which allows our customers to be confident in their results when using these kits. These kits also include internal and external controls and this provides reliable results to our customers. Through our PorcineTrace Detection kits, we hope to provide assurance that our customers’ food are halal and safe.
To find out more about 7FoodPillars’ PorcineTrace PCR and Real-time PCR kits, please click here.
- Business Insider Malaysia. Sarawak is conducting tests on White Rabbit candy after Brunei authorities found traces of pig gelatin in the sweet. Accessed on 9th January 2020.
- Food navigator-asia.com. Non-halal candy: Malaysia may follow Brunei in removing White Rabbit from halal shelves. Accessed on 9th January 2020.